Socktobfest Answers

When did you start making socks? I think it was 2002 when I made the first pair with fingering weight yarn. I thought about it for months, before trying. I started in Savannah with dpns, then went to an LYS and bought my first addi Turbos. I made Xmas stockings with worsted and size 8 dpns before that. My first real socks were started on size 1 dpns, but I gave up on the cuff and used the basic pattern from Cat Bordhi’s book on two circs.

Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class? I moved from Xmas stockings.

What was your first pair? Lorna’s Laces Liberty, photo is here. How have they “held up” over time? A little fuzzy and felted in some areas of the foot.

What would you have done differently? Not wind the hank by hand. Tangling the hank prompted me to buy a swift and ballwinder. Not join a new ball of yarn in the center of the bottom of the foot.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed? LL, Opal, Meilenweit Cotton, Regia, Mountain Colors Bearfoot, Lisa Souza Sock!

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method? Knit, Magic Loop

Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?) Flap

How many pairs have you made? 40? Don’t know, have given many away.

powered by performancing firefox

One thought on “Socktobfest Answers

Leave a Reply

