Recipes

Here is my recipe box for The Grandma Mabel Memorial Recipe Box Show & Tell Contest
This is my "fancy’ one, with my favorite recipes printed on 4×6 inch cards, using Mastercook software. The file folder, however, contains MC printouts, (several copies from when I can’t find what I want) newspaper and  magazine clippings, etc. and is what I usually cook from.
Box

Recipes

While not really from my box, I wanted to share my father’s recipe for BBQ sauce. This was for the Lions Club Chick-n-que.  He had a brass exterminator’s sprayer with which he applied the sauce to 1,500 halves.  Note: the mineral spirits is for starting the fire, not adding to the sauce.

Bbqsauce_2
.

We also have cookbooks from DH’s mother, grandmother and great-grandmother. Here is his mother’s
Book

Openbk

Also, here is my mother, Kitty Barnett’s,  recipe for a special occasion nibble.

Nippy Cheese Wafers.

2 cups cheddar cheese, grated
1/2 cup butter
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon red pepper
3/4 cup nuts, finely chopped

Mix and shape into rolls. Wrap in wax paper and chill overnight. Slice thin, bake at 350 degrees until light brown. Dough may be frozen

3 thoughts on “Recipes

  1. How often did he apply the BBQ sauce with the sprayer? How long did the halves cook? Cheese nibbles sound delish. Trish

Leave a Reply

