A Lot of Stuff, and a Little Knitting

Seeing Cristi’s beautiful vest (go look at it.) inspired me to pull out my mystery Fair Isle project. I don’t remember what it was supposed to be. I started it 10-15 years ago. (Longer than some people have been knitting.) Anyway, then I packed it away. It is mostly Reynold’s Candide. I sold the rest of the yarn. Figured I would not finish it. I have a vague memory that it was going to be a scarf, maybe. Turtlegirl suggested I make a round bolster pillow. I wonder how it would felt. Could I cut it (would that be a steek, LOL?) and knit another side and make a purse, maybe?
Mystery

The patterns came from this book, I remember. The authors are Mary Smith and Maggie Twatt. It says printed and published by the Shetland Times. Ltd. I got it in Washington, DC when I lived there from 1989-92. I taught myself to knit in the round on dpns when I lived there.

Pattbook

Pattern

I also finished half the leg of my second Saxon braid sock to match Samus. This is Knitpicks Essential Tweed in Marine Blue. I have to be in the mood. I put aside another second sock for this.
Sock2_2

The iris are blooming next to the garden. We put the tomato plants out in the garden yesterday, and have been mulching and watering and placing cages. I got squirted with the hose and got dirt all over me.
Iris

6 thoughts on “A Lot of Stuff, and a Little Knitting

  1. What a pretty iris picture. That’s the one thing I miss the most about my parent’s old house. There were always tons of iris blooms this time of year.

  2. You have the same color Iris’ as I do! They’re so pretty aren’t they?
    I totally think you could make that into something fun. Seam up and end and add a liner and a strap, you have a purse!

  3. You should do something with it. It could make a cute purse. That iris is beautiful. Ours haven’t bloomed yet but they should bloom soon.
    Great job on the CPH!

  4. Oh my…live plants! This weekend included a blizzard which hasn’t continued through to Monday…bummer, school will be today. It is 9 degrees and 4 foot drifts…no flowers for us!

Leave a Reply

