Apple Butter Time

To make this somewhat knit-related, I have gotten past the heel of the Embossed Leaves sock in Ball and Skein Fallen Leaves colorway. The apple trees are loaded.
Treesock

Apples

Appletree

I picked apples from this tree and an adjacent one yesterday. I cut them up and put them in the Crock Pot before I went to bed and let them cook overnight. This recipe.filled a 5.5 qt oval slow cooker to the top. I added the sugar in the beginning. Otherwise, I doubt DH and his father could have eaten some apples at breakfast. After I got up, I put the cooked apples in the blender and pureed them. Love those slow cooker liners! Then I put them back in the Crock Pot, seasoned them with spices, and cooked another hour.
Corckpot 

Then the fun starts. Sterilize the jars and lids and heat the canner. Turn on ceiling fan.
Stovetop

Canner

Process 10 minutes in a boiling water bath. (I got this time from another recipe.) I got about six pints in all. The back ones are Ball freezer jars.
Jars

7 thoughts on “Apple Butter Time

  1. Oh wow! That looks divine! We have a local place called “William’s Orchard” that sells tons of homemade stuff, one of them being apple butter. I try not to go in there too often. I always end up leaving with way more than we could ever eat. lol

  2. Yum! I really like apple butter, but rarely eat it. I didn’t even know they MADE slow cooker liners, I’ll have to tell SB cause chili season is right around the corner.

  3. Mmmmm, apple butter. Thanks for reminding me that in about six weeks or so we can hit the apple orchards in the mountains — can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

