Jam Up and Jelly Tight

That was one of my mother's expression, though I never heard the song. YouTube. I made lemon basil and cinnamon basil jellies. It seems like cheating to use the Certo liquid pectin and have jelly so fast, while everything else I have canned has had to cook for a while.

Basil jelly photo shoot. The lemon is the lighter, more yellow one.

Sun2

Jars2

That is Genovese basil in the blue jar.  It is in the tomato jams I made earlier. It has rooted in water.  I always wonder what my antique Mason jars have seen-what they have held in their lives.

Sun

Jars3

  The other thing that I have canned this past week is a second batch of Salted Caramel Pear Butter. I had some Fleur de Sel sea salt that I got to make caramels last Christmas, that got put in the pears with the brown sugar and nutmeg. I also broke out the Ball Elite half pint jars, as I now have a canner in which they fit, with a flat rack.

Elite

Elite2

 

One thought on “Jam Up and Jelly Tight

  1. *Love* the old blue jars! I think the Certo is good for things that won’t stand up to long cooking – I use it when I make pepper jelly :o)

Leave a Reply

