Some More Stuff

I went walking last week when it was cooler, and kept having to take my gloves off to mess with my smartphone in its armband, because the WBHM app kept crashing while I was trying to listen to All Things Considered on NPR. The reason I wore the gloves is because I have Raynaud's Syndrome, and it can be painful if my fingers get cold. Anyway, I researched sports gloves that work with touchscreens. I kept finding boring gray and black ones. (I have gray and black ones already, with fingers that are 2 or 3 inches too long.) I also kept finding colorful women's sports gloves at Zappo's. So when I went to the Zappo's site to reset my password, after their hacking incident, I ordered these Manzella gloves that have conductive fabric on the index fingers and thumbs. The fingers fit, too!

  Gloves

 After I ordered these, I discovered conductive thread, thanks to a post on Plurk. Then I discovered gloves with the conductve thread knit in, like this Knitty pattern. I now have this thread, and have ordered pink and turquoise too.

 Thread

Then I had to open a Pinterest account to keep up with the links for conductive thread, etc., after my nephew's wife and great-niece both sent me invitations. That and recipes.

I made a New Year's resolution to exercise, so I started off with my new Leslie Sansone DVD, Walk Slim Five Big Miles. (I got it with a $3 off coupon.) So I did a different LS DVD for 5 days in a row, then walked outside on the weekend.  Now my doctor says I have tight hamstrings and irritated tendons behind my knees, sigh.

So I have been knitting on my Susie's Reading Mitts instead of exercising. These are knit in the Reynolds Ultra Alpaca Light that did not want to be boot cuffs.

 Susiesmitts

 Susiesmitts

Today, there is Chicken Enchilada Soup in the Crock-Pot. I now think I need a 5-quart Crock-Pot because I don't have a stainless steel one, or 5 qt.

 

4 thoughts on “Some More Stuff

  1. Such an interesting post! I hadn’t heard of Raynaud’s Syndrome or conductive thread. And I’ve printed the soup recipe so I can make it this week. Yum! I need to replace my large Crock Pot, too. One of the handles came off and the outside gets really hot. Love the color of those mitts!

  2. a word of advice on conductive thread – only purchase it from vendors that state the resistance in ohms/foot in the product description. The resistance should be between .2 ohms/foot and 15 ohms/foot. Otherwise…its just another pretty thread.

  3. Very cool wooden mitten form! Where did you find that? Thanks for the yummy soup link too! I’m loving my crock these cold winter days as I’m working more now during tax season. Less stress coming home nights when dinner is all ready.

  4. Sorry to hear you have Raynauds. I know several other people who have it and know it is painful. Take care of your hands! You need them for all of that knitting and cooking. Really liked the soup link.

Leave a Reply

