Rice, Rice, Baby

Skinny chicken enchiladas
Skinny chicken enchiladas from Gina’s Skinny Recipes. These are good and freeze well. I used my homemade tomato sauce in them. I also made Skinny Mexican Rice, and used the tomatoes with onion and jalapenos that I put up in the summer.

Fried Rice with Chicken
I just got a new fancy-schmancy Zojirushi rice cooker, and my first batch turned out to be a lot more than I needed. This is actually sushi rice and some medium grain paella type rice, with the rice vinegar, sugar and salt for California rolls I made the other day. I had a lot of sugar snap peas that I threw in with the peas and carrots. I also made a big batch of shredded chicken for the enchiladas and put some in here. I plan to have chicken for the freezer, but Belvedere has been eating it with his kibble. He danced around tonight sniffing the food, and staring hard at the refrigerator, until I fed him. He got the leftover egg yolks I had from the egg whites in the rice. I put in 2 whole eggs and 4 egg whites for a double recipe.

I am close to finishing both of the knitting projects I posted the other day, so they look pretty much the same.

Thanksgiving cactusThe Thanksgiving cactus in my office is blooming. There are 2 buds on it. All the other cacti have already bloomed. I don’t give them darkness like I am supposed to to get them to bloom. The plant at home spends the spring and summer outside on a shaded patio and has flowers all over the plant.

Leave a Reply

