Strawberry Shortcake

I wanted to make strawberry shortcake on Memorial Day weekend, but did not get around to it, and got Key lime pie at Publix, I found a recipe shortcake in a mason jar with angelfood cake and whipped cream. I did not find or remember to get a cake. I then found a recipe for strawberry shortcake with toasted pecan buttermilk biscuits, so I tried this one out.
First I sliced the strawberries and let them sit with sugar for a while in the fridge.
Strawberries for shortcake
I then toasted the pecans, which is only noteworthy because I actually watched them and did not burn them.  What was neat about this recipe was that the dry ingredients for the biscuits were mixed in the food processor, giving me a chance to use my new Cuisinart again. (Love 30% off at Kohl’s.)

Shortcake
We think it turned out pretty well.

One thought on “Strawberry Shortcake

Leave a Reply

